top of page
  • Writer's pictureHilary

How Working Moms Can Benefit from a Mindfulness Practice


Sometimes, our days are so busy that things just happen in a blur. There are times when I start streaming music and yet, halfway through my playlist, I realize that I can’t remember which songs have been playing because I wasn’t really listening at all.

Whenever something like this happens, and I tell you, it happens even to someone like me who likes to stay on top of things, I immediately stop what I’m doing and take a few precious moments to clear my head and take a few cleansing breaths.

Why do I do this? Simple – to restart my mindfulness practice.

Mindfulness is the practice of being in touch with the present, with the here and now. To many, it means being aware of  thoughts, feelings, and what is happening around you. It can also mean living in the present moment, and living life to the fullest. To me, mindfulness is all those things.

Aside from being a writer, I am also a wife, mother, and business owner. So my schedule can really get hectic. However, ever since I started practicing mindfulness, despite the workload, my days seem a lot less daunting.

If you are a work-at-home mom just like me, you can benefit a lot from starting a simple mindfulness practice. By paying attention on purpose, you are able to focus on any task at hand. In the past, I got easily distracted by loud music, phone calls, the flurry of people around me but by becoming more mindful, my ability to concentrate has improved immensely. The increased attention span has led to increased productivity as well.


Another benefit of living in the present is the vast improvement of my listening skills. By giving my full attention to people I am with, I am a better listener. My conversations with them are deeper and more meaningful. As a mother, daughter, and wife, this means a lot to me because I am able to show my family how much I love them.

Being a business owner, I can vouch that having a mindfulness practice has helped me overcome challenges. I have become more objective and considerate. By being aware of how my decisions affect the people I interact with in my business dealings, I am able to view even the most difficult situations with acceptance and objectivity.

Stress reduction, too, can result from living in the here and now. Because I am in the present moment, I do not worry about the things I have no control of. I save myself from unnecessary stress and anxiety. Stress is kept at healthy levels, just enough to keep me motivated. Gone are the days when I allow stress to get the better of me because by embracing mindfulness as a healthy habit, I am able to respond differently under pressure.

Mindfulness also allows me to become more compassionate towards myself and others. Working moms are often guilty of neglecting their own needs but by being mindful, I have become more sensitive to my body’s needs. I eat on time and at a more leisurely pace. I also make it a point to get a full night’s sleep and enjoy rest periods a few times during the day.

The practice of mindfulness has helped me maintain a healthy work-life balance.

If you’re looking to improve work-life balance and reduce your stress levels, here’s how you can start an easy mindfulness practice at home:

  1. Learn to slow down.

  2. Do not overschedule.

  3. Start your day with meditation.

  4. Do regular deep breathing exercises.

  5. Listen to your body.

  6. Have more meaningful conversations with others.

  7. Practice gratitude.

  8. Schedule a “me time.”

  9. Be open and nonjudgmental.

  10. Engage in activities that involve your senses such as painting and cooking

I’m Hilary De Freitas The Marketing Mom

My Mission:  To Bring as Many Moms Back Home and Earning a Living Online!

Are you a mother with her own business and need to learn how to market online? Join us in our 12 month Coaching Program.


For more information click here

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page