top of page
  • Writer's pictureHilary

5 Image and Video Content Ideas for Social Media

Not again!

It’s another exciting week and you still haven’t come up with interesting content to post on your social media pages.

Gosh!

Before you send yourself into a tizzy, I have some good news for you. I’ve been there!

Being a marketing mom means that I have very little time to devote to hours of content creation. Churning out 1,000 word blog posts weekly just isn’t my thing (although I have written about the importance of blogging in this article). I want to engage with my followers in a way that truly matters to them. That’s why I use images and videos as my secret weapons. In fact, “images get 37 percent more engagement on Facebook” than other types of posts.

You may be saying, “Gosh Hilary, I really don’t like filming videos of myself and have no design skills to create stunning images.” There are so many options and tools that you can use to create strong videos and images that your fears will quickly dissipate.

Here are five simple image and video content ideas for social media.

Inspirational Quotes

(Photo by alex bracken on Unsplash)

Inspirational quotes may seem cliché but they have immense value when trying to connect with your audience. Your quote may put a smile on someone’s face, give someone else a boost and help another person feel better about a sad event. It’s about making a connection that people will remember. Canva is a platform you can use to create well designed images to feature your motivational quotes.

Jonathan Fader, founder of the Union Square Practice in New York City, has this to say about motivational quotes,

For people open to their message, well-structured messages that use strong imagery and appeal to our aspirational nature can be meaningful and powerful in changing our thinking and helping us see something in ourselves that we want to change or overcome.”

Share Family Life

Me with my girls.

This suggestion depends considerably on the type of business you have. However, it does help to have your followers connect with the human side of your brand, especially if you are a digital marketer, consultant or any other type of solopreneur. It shows that you’re dedicated to your family and they are a part of your business.

Two of my daughters are actively involved in cheerleading. I enjoy going to their performances and cheering them on and I try to include my followers in the experience as much as possible. I take pictures and film videos to share my experiences with my followers.

Share Work Life

(Photo by Charles Koh on Unsplash)

Work forms a big part of your life, especially if you’re someone like me who works from home. Give your followers a glimpse into what it’s like behind your desk as a solopreneur. I have taken pictures of my workspace to show the difference between how neat and organised it is at the beginning of the year and the mess it becomes towards the end of the year.

You could also consider taking screenshots of what you’re working on and sharing it with your audience. Another idea for videographers and other creatives in that space is to have someone take pictures of you while you’re filming and editing. Your followers want to get to know you and what your hectic life entails.

Behind the Scenes Videos and Images

(Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash)

This is another way to share your work life. You probably attend a few conferences and events throughout the year. Why not film a live or pre-recorded video of your experience there? You can also provide your followers with a sneak-peek of upcoming products. The aim is to build intrigue and help your followers learn more about how you work and engage in growth opportunities.

Tutorials

(Photo by Sergey Zolkin on Unsplash)

This is one of the most fulfilling options because it involves sharing your knowledge with the rest of the world. Sure, it will require some good quality equipment such as a noise cancelling microphone, a phone or laptop with a good camera, and a lighting kit if you want to produce the right quality. However, the investment is worth the reward. Don’t let that deter you though because you can still create some good tutorial videos using your smartphone.

My cousin is a great baker and I think that she can create a tutorial about icing a cake. That’s something I would watch because I love to bake! I’m sure other people would feel the same. Producing these videos will help position her as an expert in the niche and also help her build a strong social media following.

Connect With Me to Learn More

See, it’s not that hard! You can use these five image and video content ideas for social media that will breathe life into your social media pages. I would love to hear what you think! Leave a comment below or connect with me on any of my social media platforms.

Want to chat more about social media? Schedule a call today.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page