top of page
  • Writer's pictureHilary

3 Tips to Keep Your Facebook Account

3 Tips to Keep Your Facebook Account

Working with Clients in my Facebook Marketing Coaching I’ve realized that there is a HUGE fear of loosing their Facebook Accounts.

So you’re probably waiting with baited breath to find out what you should NOT be doing on Facebook that will get your account either shut down or people just not seeing your posts!

Everyone today knows how important it is to have a social media presence.

What they don’t know is how to do that properly.

Social Media is at the end of the day a social platform.

So one of the first things you have to keep in mind with Facebook is that

1. Facebook Does NOT Want Business To Fill a News Feed

MyFBNewsfeed

My Facebook News Feed


Now that it doesn’t matter if YOU don’t mind business in your news feed or not. Facebook doesn’t want it.

And you’re probably wondering so what do they want?

Well you think about it, Facebook used to be a college only website.

I remember when I was a Facebook and it was just me and my college friends. (Yes I have just dated myself)

Facebook was fun.

I remember the very day that Facebook opened up to the “Public”.

I actually didn’t like it.

I turned up my privacy settings to the highest and

I never wanted to be found on Facebook!

You see when Facebook opened up to the world they didn’t have alot of things in place.

But now they do.

So I’m not too afraid of the Facebook anymore.

But that was my experience.

And that’s why they want “business” filling up people’s news feed.

They want people to like , stay on and play on Facebook.

If you as a business person decide that all you’re going to do is promote your business on Facebook and NOTHING ELSE

well the Facebook and its algorithms are going to get you and get you good!

Which leads me to tip #2

2. Do Things That Will Keep People on the Facebook

Yes “The Facebook” likes it when people stay on Facebook.

The average time spent on the Facebook by any user is about 27 minutes.

Can you imagine someone staying on one site for more than 5 minutes!!!!

Facebook has a winning formula!

But that formula depends on what people post.

Along with this – if you didn’t hear the rumor – the Facebook and the YouTube – don’t like each other very much.

Now I never said you can’t post YouTube videos on Facebook.

Nope! I didn’t say that.

But have you noticed recently that when you do post a video from YouTube on Facebook you just see a link.

You don’t see the thumbnail of the video.

Go check it out!

You see YouTube is just the video version of the Facebook!

So if you post a lot of YouTube videos on Facebook, then you’re sending people away from the Facebook to another social site.

People can spend up to an hour on YouTube. So what do think they’re going to do after they spend that hour on YouTube?

They’re going to go back to work, school, or whatever.

They are NOT going back to the Facebook.

What Facebook wants is for you to either upload or GO Live on Facebook!

3. Facebook wants Ads that Enhance the Personal Experience

A Facebook Ad That I did A while Back

A Facebook Ad That I did A while Back


The third tip I’m going to leave you with today is pretty simple.

Yes you can as a business Advertise on the Facebook!

But your ads need to be just like your posts.

If you ad is all about selling – then you’re probably going to get shut down pretty soon.

Gone are the days when you can just post an ad with a capture page or a sales page.

You have to be a little more creative with your Ads these days.

Most people complain about the high cost of advertising on Facebook, but it’s not really the cost so much as their targeting 

So it’s not that Facebook doesn’t want business on their site, they just want you to learn how to Market properly!

So Get out there and Learn some REAL Marketing!

I’m Hilary De Freitas The Marketing Mom

Connect with me on Social

or Send me a message would love to hear from you.

P.S

I invite you join my newsletter and you will learn how to continue to grow your business online.

My goal here is to help you learn how to market and build a successful business online.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page