top of page
  • Writer's pictureHilary

Let’s Get Sun Smart – Clear away the Myths

Mary Kay Helps You Get Sun Smart!


Did you know that about 90% of the visible signs of skin aging is caused by the sun?

Did you know that approximately 90% of non-melanoma skin cancer is caused by the sun?

Did you know that Broad spectrum sunscreen continues to be one of the safest and most effective sun protection methods available?

Here’s one I didn’t even know:

Did you know that sun protection is a must 365 days a year regardless of where you live, what season you’re in, what you do or how dark your skin tone. (yuppers that includes us sistas ok !)

So naturally there was a myth going around that said, if you’re black you don’t need sun block.

At least that’s what I was told growing up.

And I grew up on a tropical island.

Good thing I started protecting my skin when I went to the US!

phew!

Myth Number 1 about Sun Protection

There’s little risk of UV damage on cloudy or winter days

It’s interesting. You would think on a cloudy day there’s no sun or need to worry about UV rays!

But up to 80% of the sun’s UV rays penetrate light clouds, mist and even FOG!!!!

Myth Number 2 about Sun Protection:

Darker skin tones don’t need sunscreen! Well I only learned this recently that even darker skin tones are susceptible to sun damage.

We’re certainly not the first at risk but we can be affected.

I remember when I was younger going to beach and pulling out my “sun-block” SPF 10!

Yea! I was going tanning! Like what could that protect right?!?!

Myth Number 3 about Sunscreen

Sunscreen will cause a Vitamin D Deficiency

Well I know if a baby’s looking a little yellow they usually recommend a little sun.

But really as you get older you don’t need the sun for Vitamin D.

Any amount of unprotected sun exposure is dangerous! Just think about how many people pass out each year in the summer!

Myth Number 4 about Sunscreen

And I’m sure you’ve all heard this one before

Sunscreen ingredients are unsafe and bad for you!

Then why does the Skin Cancer Foundation say that ,

“Sunscreen continues to be one of the safest and most effective sun protection methods available”

True enough there are many myths surrounding sunscreen

But you don’t need to be caught up in the myths.

Learn the facts and get sun smart.

Catch my blog tomorrow where we go into a little Sun Education.

What’s good

What’s bad

What you should not be doing to protect your skin!


I’m Hilary De Freitas

Online Marketer, Network Marketer and Mom

P.S

Marketing online is a journey, a journey that I invite you to share with me.

P.P.S

Want to learn more about Mary Kay’s products OR How you can start your Mary Kay Business follow the links

I offer a FREE Mastermind training with my team members to help them build their business online using my personal online marketing university

1 view0 comments
bottom of page