top of page
  • Writer's pictureHilary

Staying Focused for December

As we begin to wrap up this year of 2015

you may be feeling like there are so many OTHER things that need to get done.

Don’t leave things for last minute

After all, we are human.

And it is by our very nature that we will leave Christmas preparation for the last minute.

Here in Trinidad we are “last minute” Kings and Queens.

It can be very easy to say – Oh I’ll leave working on my business until after Christmas.

Well that will be a big mistake!

You can’t just put aside all your online work for an entire month and then except to pick up running in January.

Fireworks


We all know that if we stop doing something for even a few days it takes a while to get back in the saddle.

Well your business in NO different.

And in order to make 2016 start with the fireworks that everyone will be watching at Times Square,

you need to be laying that foundation NOW ….. in December.

And even though the month is almost over you still have time.

So what are you going to be doing?

Well you’ve probably already received Christmas cards from your car dealership,

You’ve probably received a basket or two from people who provide you with services throughout the year.

You’ve probably been receiving more than your usual share of emails promoting one item or another.

You’ve probably been getting phone calls ……

and yes the list goes on and on.

Do you realize that you should be doing the very same thing.

You can’t put your feet up and say – It’s Christmas – Time to drink and be Merry.

Business online is always open!

You have to remember that and as an online marketer you need to remember that the “store” of the internet is always open.

So you need to be “present” for people to buy.

Now you’re probably wondering to yourself how will I do that?

Well …… you know the old adage of the money is in the list.

Well one way to ensure that you can hit the ground running is to BUILD YOUR LIST

Build your list in December and you will have a base to market to in January 2015.

How do you do that.

Well in the online marketing world – Content is King –

Create Content like mad this December.

Now when I say “like mad” I mean you figure out what it is that you are most passionate about and talk about that.

You talk about it on Social Media,

You create videos about it,

You create emails,

You create blog posts,

Create products!!!!!

Host Webinars!

There are so many ways you can build a list.

The Most obvious is placing ads on social media.

But my point is STAY FOCUS on building your audience.

You can’t sell to anyone if you have no one to sell to.

In Trinidad a lot of people think that marketing is advertising, so I’ve been seeing tons of Trini companies just putting out ads.

Quite frankly it’s annoying.

I haven’t heard from you all year and now you want me to buy!?!?!?

They don’t see the value in providing value to their customers.

This is probably why they have ZERO repeat sales.

The Life of  Your Business Depends on…

If you’re in business and you don’t want to plan on trying to sell to the 6 Billion people in the world

then you need to build a list of people who  you can sell to over and over and over again.

A lot of people jump into business and think they can sell right away!

WRONG!!!!

You can’t sell to people to who don’t KNOW,

who don’t LIKE you and

who don’t TRUST you.

You can ONLY sell to people –

who KNOW you,

LIKE you

and TRUST you.

Whether you are a parlor shop, a barber, a clothing line, insurance agent, or network marketer.

Remember that people will ONLY buy from you when they KNOW you, LIKE you and TRUST you.

Try the Toyota Way

Let me break it down for you with a little story of an experience I had with car sales man a few years ago.

The dealership was Toyota in Memphis!

(All props to them because this guy is either a born sales man or he was well trained.)

My Toyota


Anyway – I was still at University and I was looking for a cheaper car than the BMW that I had purchased when I got my first “big paying” job.

So I went to Toyota, because I’m not from America so I’m buying what I know.

I walk in and this gentlemen comes up to me and starts a conversation.

At first I didn’t know if he worked there or not until I spotted the badge.

But I was very confused because he wasn’t talking about cars.

He actually had me talking. He was asking questions.

And not about what I was looking for in a car.

We talked about the classes I was doing.

Where I was from – Trinidad – which fascinated him .

We talked about what I plan to do after graduating.

Then he took my information and said he’ll be in touch!

The entire event took almost 45 mins!

And I walked out of there without a car or even knowing what the options were.

I thought that was weird!

Well he didn’t have to call me, I called him back!

And so the saga continued.

He was building a relationship …….. so that I will get to KNOW him, LIKE him and TRUST him.

So that when he was ready to sell me the car – I’d just say


This approach usually takes people by surprise!

Heck it took me by surprise.

And this my friend is what you want to do ALL DECEMBER LONG

Take people by surprise!

Talk to them, build relationships. Come January you’ll be racking in the sales!


I’m Hilary De Freitas The Marketing Mom

My Mission:  to bring as many moms back home and still earning a living!

P.S

I invite you join my newsletter and you will learn how to continue to grow your business online.

P.P.S My goal here is to help you learn how to market and build a successful business online around your children Join today and get one free 30 minute Marketing Training with me then join my mastermind to learn more

1 view0 comments
bottom of page