top of page
  • Writer's pictureHilary

Sleep is Important!

Sleep is Very Important

I always thought there was something wrong with me.

Because I loved to sleep, 7, 8 even 9 hours a night.

I used to be told when I was younger –

“You will sleep when you’re dead”

“Sleep takes time away from your work!”

“Sleeping is for lazy people”

I think that was the one that got me thinking that maybe I should sleep less.

I did not want to be lazy!

But the funny thing is I just couldn’t get myself to sleep less hours.

No matter how hard I tried.

I was trying to re-program my body to tell it

“Sleep Less”

Falling Asleep at Work


“Sleep is bad for you”

And I was only doing this because I didn’t want to be criticized for “sleeping” too much.

Well it was probably a good thing I never got used to the LIE that sleep is bad for you.

It’s probably a good thing I cherish my eight hours sleep.

Even with a new born baby I was demanding my eight hours of sleep.

Mind you it was difficult to get eight straight hours, but I really could not function without my eight hours of sleep.

Then I read the book Essentialism!

It was full of examples how important Sleep is.

How the most successful men in the world get eight to nine hours of sleep a night!

Sleep was just as important to them as balancing the check book.

Sleep was just as important as closing  a deal.

When my daughter was born – I thought that was the end of my sleep days.

After reading Essentialism my sleep days are going to continue for years to come.

I always knew there was wisdom in my madness.

I was one of those people who would sleep for eight hours

and then take a 2 hour nap in the afternoon.

Yes you could call my a sleep-o-holic

if there is such a word.

But clearly without my even realizing it, sleep was one of the most important things for my body and for my business.

I only realized how important it was when I tried for two months to go on six hours of sleep.

Olivia Sleeping


I was still at my job, baby was probably not a year as yet and I was building my online business.

Everyday I woke up at 4:30 am to plan the online day, write emails, write blog posts, schedule social media

Then it was time to get ready for work.

I will go to work for 8 hours (sometimes I’d have to sneak a 30 min nap in the bathroom)

then it was home to take care of baby.

Once the baby was asleep

I would begin my night routine,

Which usually ended about 11pm.

Then it started all over again.

By the end of the first month I was like a zombie

But I still pressed on.

I recalled my days as an athlete where we were always told

“Mind Over Matter”

It was a saying we used to push our bodies to the limits when we just felt like giving up and the finish line was just a mere 2 meters away.

Well I didn’t put two and two together.

I hadn’t set a finish line for this stupid routine that I had just started.

I thought to myself, that this “Lack of Sleep” routine could work for the rest of my life!

Let’s just say that by the end of the second month – I completely broke down

I had to take a week off work because I had gotten so sick.

I really didn’t know what I was sick with.

I couldn’t do anything with my business because I was too tired

and I wasn’t even able to help my husband with our daughter because I was so weak!

You see ……

Any doctor, business professional or even Google Inc themself will tell you!

That if you don’t sleep you’re pretty much like a drunken sailor!

You’re of no use to yourself or anyone else.

My body knew this from a very early age

But my adult self thought that maybe I can get away with it.

Well you can’t.

If you’re working your business part-time

and you’re trying to burn the candle on both ends

I’m here to tell you from personal experience —- Don’t do it!

You will burn out

AND

You WILL

have to start all over again!

Trust me

Take the few minutes you have each day and maximize that time like I talked about in this blog

Don’t try to be a hero and fit in two sets of 8 hour work days into a 24 hour day.

Be realistic with yourself

Have a wonderful day


Need advice on how to Market online? Subscribe to my list. I share marketing ideas for online and network marketers almost everyday.

Do you know someone who can use the information shared here today? Share using the links to the left.

Just so you know my name is Hilary De Freitas and I do receive compensation for the products I recommend to you. That being said- I’m a loving wife and mother of a beautiful girl and my goal here is to help you learn how to market and build a successful business online.

I offer three free 30 minute sessions of one-on-one time to those who are ready to invest in themselves and use the training offered through Tim’s Elite Marketing Pro system (valid only after the first month of your EMP membership). Do you have what it takes to become a Marketer? Join today.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page