top of page
  • Writer's pictureHilary

Protect Your Skin from Sun Exposure While Exercising Outdoors

In one of my previous blogs, I shared some tips on how to stay fit and healthy while working from home. Basing on my own experience, no matter how fit and limber you were in high school and college, age and certain desirable and undesirable lifestyle changes will affect your body.

I was into sports, specifically track and field, when I was younger. But I almost gave in to a sedentary lifestyle as I became older and when I started working from home. Thankfully, I decided to seek a healthy work-life balance before complacency took its toll on my health and body.

As I gradually succeeded in my pursuit of health and wellness, I made it my mission to help other WAHMS to live a healthier lifestyle. Using my personal wellness journey as a tool to convince others to adapt health-seeking behaviors, I successfully encouraged friends and acquaintances to maintain a healthy diet and fitness regimen.

If you are like me, hours spent working at home means you welcome the opportunity to regularly spend time outdoors – to run, trek, or simply bask in the sun. Exercising outdoors gives me a natural rush, enough to jumpstart my mind and body during “slow” days.

But let me ask you this, do you wear sunscreen whenever you go out in the sun?

Have you ever gone out for a run without sun protection?

My guess is that you probably made the mistake many times. Truth be told, a lot of people actually think that a brief run without wearing sunscreen won’t wreak havoc on one’s skin.

Well, they couldn’t be more wrong. You should always wear sun protection whenever you go out in the sun.

When exercising outdoors, even during cloudy days, you have to apply sunscreen or wear protective clothing to prevent the sun’s harmful rays from damaging your skin.

Sun damage is a major health concern and poses serious health risks. It results in premature skin aging and worse, skin cancer.

Warding off skin cancer during outdoor exercise requires sun protection. First, you need to use a broad-spectrum sunscreen of at least SPF30. When looking to buy a bottle of sunscreen, read product labels and choose one that says it provides protection from UVA and UVB rays. And aside from sunscreen lotion or spray, you also need a lip balm that contains SPF30 or higher. Wear both 30 minutes before you go out in the sun and reapply if you’re sweating a lot.

Aside from sunscreen, you also need to use protective clothing and accessories. Hats, sunglasses, and UV protective clothing all protect you from intense sun exposure.

I always emphasize the importance of the right sportswear when working out and exercising outdoors. I have tried many lines of active wear and I believe I have found the Holy Grail in Fabletics. I love their quick-dry running clothes, particularly their sports bras and print capris, because they provide great support, comfort, and moist-control, in addition to being chafe-resistant.

And more importantly, Fabletics exercise gear use garments that provide UPF 50+ sun protection. UPF stands for Ultraviolet Protection Factor and having a rating of UPF 50+means that out of more than 50 UV units, only 1 will pass through the garment. Overall, Fabletics active wear features great designs and are made from top-of-the-line materials.

How about you? What’s your favorite line of sportswear? Drop me a note in the comments section!

I’m Hilary De Freitas The Marketing Mom

My Mission: To Bring as Many Moms Back Home, Earning a Living Online and Living the Freedom Lifestyle!

Sign up for your Strategy Session with me Today

0 views0 comments
bottom of page