top of page
  • Writer's pictureHilary

How to Stay Fit While Working From Home

When I made the decision to work from home, I initially thought I would have so much time in my hands. On the contrary, because the arrangement just kept my creative juices flowing, I found myself in the thick of things, learning new skills and pursuing new endeavors.  I became so busy that I had to organize my days in order to maintain a healthy work-life balance.

You can relate right?

One of the many challenges I had to face as a work-at-home mom (WAHM) was how to stay fit and healthy.

(in case you didn’t know this about me…. I used to run track and field, high school professional and collegiate.) So you’d think keeping fit would not be a problem.

When you work at home, it is easy to succumb to a sedentary lifestyle and fall victim to all the tempting and fattening snacks that are within an arm’s reach from your work desk. Truth be told, there were a handful of times when I failed to resist the urge to work from the bed or the couch even though I knew it’s totally bad for my posture and overall health. Thankfully, in the years I’ve been working at home, I’ve been keeping up a regiment recently that has allowed me to work at staying fit and healthy and commit to my health goals.  And I understand that the health and fitness challenges I constantly deal with are also the same ones encountered by many other mothers like yourself who are working from home like me.

If you are a WAHM struggling to stick to a health and fitness routine, here are some tips to help you out.

Establish a dedicated working space

You should have a specific working space in your home.  Ideally, your home office shouldn’t be your bedroom or your living room.  But if you have very limited space at home, you can set up a desk and  a comfortable chair in these areas as long as you are able to maintain a good body posture while working.

Stand and get moving

Sitting for very long periods is damaging to your health.  Studies have shown that too much time spent on seated work increases your risk for cardiovascular diseases and other chronic illnesses. Scary, huh?  This is why you should get up at least once every hour, perhaps get a glass of water, spend time with your kids,  or simply walk around your house or front yard.

My business coach has also recommended investing in a sit-stand desk. I’m sure you’ve seen them on VariDesk before.

That’s the next item on my wish list.

Stay organized

Staying organized isn’t just for those who have regular day jobs.  Even WAHMs have to have a daily schedule because having one will only encourage you to accomplish more.

When preparing your schedule, incorporate healthy meals and your daily workout plan.  Schedule your fitness and health-related activities like you would appropriate time for work-related matters such as client meetings and presentations.  Stick to your meal times and workout schedule, because they are just as important as your job.  Do not make excuses.  There is time for everything. If you are committed, you will find time.

Gear up



When going about your fitness routine, be sure to wear the appropriate clothing.  Wearing the right sportswear or workout clothes is necessary due to safety concerns.  For example, if you are considering running to be an integral aspect of your fitness routine, prepare to invest in quality footwear and running clothes to prevent injury and failure.

I do not compromise when it comes to running shoes and clothes and neither should you. My go-to brand, Fabletics, features a whole line of running clothes that are designed to provide safety, support, flexibility and comfort.  I especially love their running leggings because they stretch nicely, provide sun protection, and dries quickly.  More importantly, they are very comfortable and chafe-resistant.

Staying fit and healthy is definitely doable for the determined work-at-home mom. Health is wealth so ditch the excuses and empower  yourself to achieve your health and fitness goals this year.

Do you have fitness tips to share?  Share them in the comments!

I’m Hilary De Freitas The Marketing Mom

My Mission:  To Bring as Many Moms Back Home and Earning a Living Online!

Are you a mother with her own business and need to learn how to market online? Join us in our 12 month Coaching Program.


For more information click here

0 views0 comments
bottom of page