top of page
  • Writer's pictureHilary

Fed up of Handing Your Child over to a Stranger?


Mother and baby

The first time I had to do this I cried. You want to know the sad thing. I wasn’t handing my child over to a stranger at all!

I handed my child over to my mother.

And I bawled.

The night before I was heading back to work I couldn’t bring myself to putting things together.

But eventually I did.

I packed her bag, organized the bottles to be made in the morning, packed my lunch, ironed my clothes then I went and sat in my daughter’s room and just watched her in the crib.

She was so tiny even at three months.

We’re a little blessed in Trinidad to have three months. Mothers in the US have a mere six weeks if they’re lucky.

But the reality is no one wants to leave their child in the hands of someone else.


Olivia and Granny

Whether it’s granny, aunty, in-laws or a complete stranger.

I know that feeling all too well.

And even as they get older you’re still a little reluctant to do so.

When my mother could no longer handle the growing bundle of joy (also because she had to make a trip which would have lasted three months) we had to make the hard decision of what child care facility we will be putting our daughter.

I was still working then, but rumors of voluntary separation was in the air at the office.

I knew this was my chance.

Even while building my business on the side (mainly three hours at night), managing work duties and new mother duties ….. I knew this was the chance of a lifetime.

And although as the weeks, months and years have passed and you still ask yourself whether you made the right choice.

But when I read articles of mothers having to go off to “work” and leave their 6 week old babies in the care of someone else I know I made the right decision.

Sometimes these choices aren’t easy, but having my own business isn’t for me, it’s for my children and my family.

It’s not so that I can accumulate wealth, fame or any of those boats, cars and other toys that people clammer after.

IMG-20150720-WA0007

It’s so that I don’t ever had to hand my children over until it’s actually time for them to do so, either because it’s time for school or they need to start the whole socializing process.

And who knows maybe one day my business will allow to start living the next part of my dream!

HOME SCHOOLING!!!


I’m Hilary De Freitas The Marketing Mom

My Mission: To Bring as Many Moms Back Home, Earning a Living Online and Living the Freedom Lifestyle!

Sign up for your Strategy Session with me Today

1 view0 comments
bottom of page